McCarty Center Image
Page Separator  
Conference Center I Development I Contact Us I Camp ClapHans
 
 
Home
About the Center
Mission
Services
Hospital Charges
People
Facilities
History
Events
News
Newsletter
Annual Reports
Careers
Purchasing
CP Commission
Map
Privacy

Image of a Boy in a Cap
 


Center Happenings

21st Annual Norman Conquest Bicycle Tour
Presented by the Bicycle League of Norman
Sat., July 9
For information contact:
Daphne Summers – ddsummers@cox.net
Jerry Puckett – jerry.puckett@ou.edu


Norman SibShops
Saturdays
Feb 20, March 19 & April 23 $6 per child-lunch included 10a.m. to 1p.m.
For more information contact
Ande Williams 910.478.6510
normansibshops@gmail.com

Gutter Dance Charity Bowling Event
Benefiting Camp ClapHans
Thursday, May 19 at 6 p.m.
Sooner Bowling Center Norman
Contact Greg Gaston for registration
ggaston@jdmc.org
or 307.2807



website created by
Turn-Key WebWorks


Cerebral Palsy Commission

The Cerebral Palsy Commission is the governing board of directors for the J. D. McCarty Center for children with developmental disabilities. The commission was established in 1948, when what is now the McCarty Center was converted from a private treatment center, founded and operated by the 40 et 8 of Oklahoma, to a state agency. The 40 et 8 is a veterans organization that was formed after World War I.

One way the 40 et 8 was allowed to stay involved with the center they had created was by nominating candidates for the commission to the Governor of Oklahoma for appointment. To date, most of the Cerebral Palsy Commissioners have been members of the 40 et 8 of Oklahoma.

Commissioners are appointed for three-year terms and maybe reappointed by the Governor to a new three-year term.

Until 2004, the Cerebral Palsy Commission was made up of three members. In 2004, the McCarty Center asked for and received a change in their statute that expanded the commission to five members. The intent of this change was to expand and diversify the knowledge, skill base and perspective of the commission. Members of the commission are still nominated by the 40 et 8 of Oklahoma, but the nominees are no longer exclusively members of the 40 et 8.

The current Cerebral Palsy Commission is composed of:

Joseph Steil, Noble, Oklahoma
jsteil@jdmc.org

Rob McCalla, Tecumseh, Oklahoma
rmccalla@jdmc.org

Karen Rieger, Norman, Oklahoma
krieger@jdmc.org

William Hart, Yukon, Oklahoma
whart@jdmc.org

Chuck Thompson, Norman, Oklahoma
cthompson@jdmc.org

Leave a message for the commisssioners at 405-307-2808